Olive Tapenade

The first challenge of Reddit’s 52 Weeks of Cooking is upon us!  Week One is Appetizers.  I decided to use Former Chef‘s Recipe for Three Olive Tapenade.  (Amazing blog – take a look!)

I love olives and am always psyched to order an olive-centric appetizer when eating out.  I don’t think it ever even crossed my mind that I could make my own until I stumbled onto this recipe.  Over the holidays, my Mom served some delicious olive tapenade she had picked up from Wegmans. I’m hoping this home-made version can at least match it!

What you need:

IMG_2082

  • 1.5 cups kalamata olives, pitted
  • 1.5 cups large green olives, pitted
  • 2 red bell pepper, roasted
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • 1 cup of parsley
  •  lemon juice – I used 1.5 lemons
  • 2 Tbsp capers
  • 5 Tbsp olive oil

The recipe I used called for California olives, which I couldn’t find, and fresh basil which is not in my grocery store this time of year.  I’m also supposed to use a food processor, which I’ll be substituting with a blender. Let’s see how it goes!

1. Take a picture of your ingredients. I mean, roast the peppers.  If you have a gas range, you can do it right over a low flame. I chose to roast my in the oven - find instructions here.

2. Once the peppers are roasted and all the burnt skin is removed, you’re ready to go!  Throw them in a food processor (or blender) along with the olives, capers, and garlic.  Pulse a couple of times, stopping to make sure you’re getting everything and not just turning that which is closest to the blade into mush.  The idea is that everything is just big enough for all the beautiful colors to be seen.

IMG_2083

3. Add the parsley, olive oil, and lemon juice.  Pulse some more.  Go slow, and scrape the sides/bottom frequently.

4. You just made delicious olive tapenade.  I enjoyed mine on a toasted piece of baguette.

IMG_2087

It’s pretty clear that my blender mushed everything more than I intended. Looking forward to getting a food processor! The look is different from Former Chef’s, but the taste is delicious!  This is the kind of thing that you could trick you into an entire baguette of bread – just as a means of getting more tapenade.  Awesome!

Leave a Reply

