Mint: Broiled Swordfish & Tabbouleh

The Challenge for Week 2 of Reddit’s 52 Weeks of Cooking was MINT.  Mint?  I don’t think I’ve ever even had fresh mint in my hands before.

I searched high and low for something that looked good and decided on a swordfish recipe from Giada deLaurentiis and a Tabbouleh recipe I found on another redditor’s cooking blog, Gavin’s Cooking.  I did the cooking at my parents house and didn’t have the patience to take pictures of anything but the finished product.  So sorry for the wall of text!

The swordfish first:

Mixture/Salsa

  • 1/2 C of Olive Oil
  • 3 T Fresh Mint, chopped
  • 3 T Basil Leaves, chopped
  • 3 T Fresh Lemon Juice
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, minced
  • Salt & Pepper

And don’t forget your fish:

  • 4 (5-6 oz each) swordfish steaks (The fresh steaks looked LOVELY but were also over $20 a pound.  I went with the frozen packs – 2 steaks for $10 at Wegmans.  Just had to add a little extra time to defrost.)

1. Turn on the broiler! Giada’s recipe called for the grill, but it was about 30 degrees outside.

2. Whisk the Olive Oil, Mint, Basil, Lemon Juice, and Garlic together. Season with salt and pepper.

3. Brush the steaks with about 2 T of your mixture.  Throw into the broiler for about 3-4 minutes on each side.  Take the fish out and serve with the rest of the salsa.

The tabbouleh second:

  • 1 C quinoa
  • 2 C Vegetable Broth
  • 1 Pint of Grape Tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 Large Cucumber, chopped
  • 2 Scallions, chopped
  • Lots of Garlic, chopped
  • 1 C of Parsley, chopped
  • 1 C of Mint, chopped
  • Juice of AT LEAST 1 Lemon
  • 1/4 C Olive Oil
  • Salt & Pepper
 

1. Rinse the quinoa, which is tricky if you don’t have a mesh colander.  A cheese cloth can work too.

2. Bring the broth to a boil and add your quinoa.  Simmer for 15 minutes.  You will know it is time to turn the page when you hear the chimes ring turn off the heat when you see the tiny spirals (the germ) separating from the seeds.

3. Set that healthy yummy stuff aside.  Fluff it up and let it cool.

4. In a small bowl, add the minced garlic to the fresh lemon juice.  Let it sit for 10 minutes.  Add the olive oil slowly, and whisk to emulsify.

5.Mix the tomatoes, cucumber, scallions, parsley, and mint in a bowl.  Season with salt & pepper.  Add the lemon/garlic emulsification.

6. If your quinoa has cooled, add the tomato mixture.

IMG_2089

Yum!  Since I was cooking for my parents and it was a little later than their normal dinner, I rushed the tabbouleh.  You can tell because I didn’t let the quinoa cook until all the broth was evaporated/soaked up  nor did I drain the excess broth.  Didn’t really matter though because it was delicious!  My Mom saved the box the quinoa came in – I think I’ve successfully introduced it to them! The swordfish was fine, but not really worth the money.  I’d rather have just a huge plate of tabbouleh.

Leave a Reply

