Chana Saag with Red Quinoa

I figured it’d be tough to get through Reddit’s 52 Weeks of Cooking challenge, this being the year of my wedding…but I really thought I’d make it through more than just the first 3 weeks!

Oh well. The wedding came and went and was beautiful, and now I have some time and energy to enjoy cooking again!

Today’s recipe is a from my favorite recipe site, Budget Byes. It’s Chana Saag!

Image

Chana = chickpea; Saag=spinach Chana Saag = deliciousness.

I won’t regurgitate Beth’s instructions, but I’d like to mention the slight modifications I made.  I didn’t have any ginger (major bummer), tomato, or evaporated milk at hand.  I did, however, have a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with chiles and a can of coconut milk.  Swap city!

The coconut milk vegan-ized the recipe as well as giving filling in some flavor missing from the lack of ginger.  The Rotel tomatoes ended up adding a kick as well. About halfway through I realized I wanted something to eat the Chana Saag with and made some red quinoa in vegetable broth.

The results:

Image

Yum! I added about 3/4 of the can of coconut milk – glad I didn’t add the whole thing. I like the flavor but really don’t like when it overpowers my food. Good thing it’s not doing that here!

Tasted great with the quinoa, but I must admit I think I’d of preferred it with rice.

Overall: Tasty AND Healthy. Nice!

 

Leave a Reply

