Zucchini Tart

We recently had a potluck at work, and my coworker Christen came in with the delicious and cheesy tart she found on Roxana’s Home Baking via Pinterest. It was so delicious I vowed to make it, and soon! My interpretation of the recipe:

You will need

Image

  • 1 Frozen Piecrust
  • 3T Toasted Pine Nuts (Pignoli)*
  • 3 Medium-Sized Zucchini, ends cut off
  • About a Pint of Grape or Cherry Tomatoes, halved
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 C Greek Yogurt (I used 0% fat Fage)
  • 2 T Olive Oil
  • 4oz Feta Cheese, crumpled
  • Freshly Grated Parmesan Cheese
  1. Heat the oven to 375° F
  2. Finely slice the zucchini. I used my mandolin.
  3. Sprinkle some salt on the zucchini and place in a colander to drain. (Say no! to soggy zucchini!)
  4. In a medium-sized bowl, combine the eggs, greek yogurt, and olive oil.
  5. Place your pie crust on a baking tin.  This will prevent the cheap aluminum your pie crust is in from warping.
  6. Pat dry the zucchini (You’ll be surprised how much water the salt draws out) and lay half of them into the bottom of the pie crust.Image
  7. Sprinkle the feta cheese on top
  8. Sprinkle the pine nuts on top
  9. Add another layer of zucchini using what remains.
  10. Arrange the halved tomatoes along the outside of the pie crust. Or make a design, whatever strikes your fancy!
  11. Sprinkle on the rest of the pine nuts.
  12. Pour the egg/yogurt mixture on top of the tart. Your call if you want the tomatoes covered too.
  13. Grate the parmesan cheese over top.Image
  14. Stick it in the oven for about 40 minutes.  Let cool before slicing.IMG_2414

 

*Word to the Wise – Toast your pine nuts first.  Give them your undivided attention. I did not do this, and narrowly missed burning them. I rushed them out of the pan and into a small bowl – and placed the pan back down on the electric range without turning off the heat. I was placing zucchini in the tart when my smoke alarm went off.  My quite new stainless steel pan was mostly brown and black.  And it was my fault! Ugh!

I boiled a combo of water and vinegar in the pan (per instructions I found here) and it looks like I did not succeed in killing it.  If I do this in my late twenties… does that mean I’m going to burn my house down when I’m in my 60’s?

I couldn’t stay mad at myself for too long, because I am responsible for a friggin delicious and beautiful tart!

Leave a Reply

